Holy Trinity Parish, Springfield, MO, Founded 1966

Holy Trinity Church, Springfield, MO (circa 2010)
Holy Trinity Church, Springfield, MO (circa 2010)

General parish info

Contact info
Pastor: Fr. Fergus J. Monaghan
DRE: Sr. Jeanne Goessling, SSND
Office Manager: Tina Kile
Finances: Frank Stewart
Music: Mary Gray
Youth Director: Monica Pickins

Phone: (417) 883-3440 • Fax: (417) 883-0072
Mailing address: Holy Trinity Church, 2818 E Bennett St., Springfield, MO 65804-1943

Web site: www.holytrinity-catholic.com

Weekend Mass times

8:30 & 11:30 a.m.
9 a.m. & 5 p.m.

Daily Mass Times

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday
6:30 & 9 a.m.
9 a.m. & 6:30 p.m.


4 – 4:45 p.m. or by appointment


9:30 a.m. – 12-noon, First Friday, Sept. – May

Office hours

8 a.m. 5 p.m.

Updated: 10-04-17



To serve the growing Catholic population in southeast Springfield, Holy Trinity Parish was founded with Fr. Richard Rolwing as first pastor. The Elks Lodge, ten blocks west of the present location, was used for liturgical celebrations and religion classes for the 325 families until the church building was dedicated in 1969 by Bishop Ignatius Strecker.

Fr. Mark Ernstmann was appointed second pastor in 1972. Under his leadership and previous experience as Diocesan Superintendent of Catholic Schools, the Parish School of Religion flourished. Fr. Thomas Allen was appointed pastor in August 1977. A year later, a parish gymnasium/social center and seven classrooms were built and dedicated by Bishop Bernard Law on May 11, 1979. Fr. Paul McLoughlin was appointed fourth pastor in 1987. Continued generosity of the parishioners enabled the mortgage on the church and additions to be paid off several years ahead of schedule.

Continuing growth of the parish greeted its fifth pastor, Msgr. Thomas Reidy, in 1991. This precipitated a multiple-phase building plant, which included demolition and rebuilding of the chapel, the addition of four new classrooms, a new Parish Ministry Center, new parish offices, and a new rectory. A Prayer Garden with Stations of the Cross was included. Bishop John Leibrecht dedicated the buildings on Nov. 3, 1996 and Sept. 9, 2001.


The parish has doubled in size, counting 750 families as members. There are 215 students in the K-12 Parish School of Religion. Another 110 children attend Catholic schools. The parish boasts a 40-person choir and a slightly smaller contemporary choir, a Parish Council of Catholic Women, Men’s Club, Knights of Columbus, Health Ministry, Youth Group, Liturgy Committee, and several women’s guilds.

Parishioners also participate in Springfield Council of Churches’ activities, Habitat for Humanity, The Kitchen, and St. Vincent de Paul Society. In 2003, parishioners helped finance the construction of 60 homes in Nicaragua through the Rainbow Network.

The parish family comes together to celebrate and socialize during annual events: the Christmas Dinner, St. Patrick’s Day Dinner, Easter Sunday Brunch, and the parish picnic. Fr. Fergus Monaghan was appointed pastor Aug. 18, 2004.

Priests served

Rolwing, Msgr. Richard C., Aug 17, 1966 – Aug 15, 1972
Ernstmann, Msgr. Mark C., Aug 16, 1973 – Jul 31, 1977
Allen, Fr. Thomas E., Aug 1, 1977 – Aug 16, 1987
McLoughlin, Fr. Paul J., Aug 17, 1987 – Aug 17, 1992
Reidy, Msgr. Thomas E. VG, Aug 18, 1992 – Aug 17, 2004
Monaghan, Fr. J. Fergus, Aug 18, 2004 –

Above is compiled from diocesan archives.
“D” designates information compiled from The Catholic Directory or Year Book.

Parish related

GPS coordinates: N37° 11.268’, W093° 14.292’ (click here for map)

Share This: