St. Joseph Parish, Billings, MO, Founded 1879

St. Joseph Church, Billings, MO (circa 2010)
St. Joseph Church, Billings, MO (circa 2010)

General parish info

Contact info
Pastor: Augustine R. Njuu, AJ
Janice Fabro
Nicole Dotson
Bonnie King
Youth Director: 
Michaela Barrett
Evangelization: Sr. Dina Marie Egong, SMP

Phone: (417) 744-2490 • Fax:(417) 744-2528
Mailing address: St. Joseph Church, PO Box 100, 320 NW Washington Ave., Billings, MO 65610-0100


Weekend Mass times

8 a.m. & 10:30 a.m.
4 p.m. Vigil Mass

Daily Mass Times

Tuesday – Friday
8 a.m.

Holy Days

7 p.m. day of the Holy Day


3 – 3:45 p.m.

Office hours

Monday – Friday
?? a.m. to ??

Updated: 10-04-17



A priest visited Billings for the first time in 1879 when Mass was celebrated in the Vogelteich home. It wasn’t until 1883 that Billings was visited by a priest again. Mass was offered in a store operated by William Wolfe. It was at this time that the priest urged the people to build a church. The task was completed within the same year. It was built on two lots donated by the Frisco Railroad. The original structure was made of lumber hauled by men from Stone County and cost $250.00.

Although a new brick church was erected in 1890, it wasn’t until 1909 that it was dedicated. The original wooden structure was remodeled and used for the parish school. The building was destroyed by fire on Nov. 2, 1920. The present church was built the following year and dedicated on May 4, 1921. In February 1942, the men of the parish dug a basement to serve as a recreational hall. The present day stained-glass windows were put into place during the spring of 1947.

In 1951 a new brick school building was built. Classes began on Nov. 26, 1951, and continued until 1967 when the last class graduated. In 1980, an addition was added to accommodate the growing number of students in the Parish School of Religion.

The first parish rectory was built in 1901. It served as a residence for the priests until 1972 when it was sold and moved. The parish priest moved into the convent, which had been vacated when the school closed and the sisters left. This remained the residence of the priest until the spring of 2001 when the parish purchased a home at 414 Griesemer Road.

In 1999, several men of the parish erected a metal building to serve as the St. Vincent de Paul distribution center. To date, the parish owns and maintains the church, the annex building, the parish hall, the cemetery, the storage and pantry building, and the present rectory.

Priests served

Ingoldsby, Fr. Gervase W., Jan 22, 1948 – May 31, 1948
Engeman, Fr. Leander, May 10, 1948 – Mar 27, 1949
Doyle, Fr. Thomas, Jun 10, 1951 – Jun 18, 1957
Connell, Fr. William J., Jun 24, 1957 – Jun 29, 1970
Duffner, Fr. Ralph J., Sep 15, 1969 – Sep 13, 1970
Bucher, Msgr. Philip A., Jun 23, 1970 – Dec
Eschbacher, Fr. Jerome J., Aug 14, 1970 – Sep
Frain, Fr. Joseph E. X., Sep 15, 1975 – Jul 14, 1979
Rynish, Msgr. John J., Jul 15, 1979 – Aug 16, 1993
Huggins, Fr. William A., Aug 17, 1993 – Aug 16, 1995
Reynolds, Fr. James L., Aug 17, 1995 – Aug 16, 2000
Teter, Fr. Patrick A., Aug 17, 2000 – Aug 12, 2003
Carr, Fr. Gary M., Aug 13, 2003 – Aug 17, 2004
Manso, Fr. Bobby, Sep 3, 2004 – Jun 30, 2009
Isidor, Fr. Rahab (Parochial Administrator), Jul 1, 2009 – Jun 30, 2010
Hejna, Fr. Lewis E. (Canonical Pastor), Jul 1, 2010 – Jun 30, 2011
Braun, Fr. John S. (Sacramental Priest), Jul 1, 2011 – Jun 30, 2013
Njuu, Fr. Augustine R., AJ, Jul 1, 2013 –

Above is compiled from diocesan archives.
“D” designates information compiled from The Catholic Directory or Year Book.

Parish related

GPS coordinates: N37° 04.077’, W093° 33.356’ (click here for map)

Share This: