St. Mark Parish, Houston, MO, Founded 1952

St. Mark Church, Houston, MO (circa 2010)
St. Mark Church, Houston, MO (circa 2010)

General parish info

Contact info
Pastor: Fr. Matthew J. Rehrauer

Phone: (417) 967-3589
Mailing address: 117 E South Oak Crest Dr., Houston, MO 65683-1536


All schedules subject to change. Please call parish offices above to verify.

Weekend Mass times

10:30 a.m.

Daily Mass Times

7:25 a.m.

Holy Days

7:15 a.m.


10 – 10:15 a.m.

Office hours

Tuesday & Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Updated: 07-18-17


Texas county records reveal the building of a Catholic church with 60 members after the Civil War around 1867. In 1914 the church was destroyed by fire. Services took place in private homes until a new church was built in Beulah in 1932. When many families moved from the area during the depression and war years, the church was closed. During the 1940s, several Catholic families in the Houston area attended Mass at either Cabool or Willow Springs.

In 1952, St. Louis Archbishop Joseph Ritter gave his permission to buy land and build a church. Fr. Sylvester Bauer supervised the construction and landscaping of the church grounds. The cost was financed by St. Pius X parish in St. Louis. Dedication by Bishop Charles Helmsing, then of St. Louis, took place on June 14, 1953, and St. Mark officially became a mission church of St. Joseph Mission Center in White Church.

By 1969, with the parish debt paid, the Catholic community had grown to some 100 members. In 1975, St. Mark Mission Church became a parish with a resident pastor, Fr. Paul McLoughlin, and given care of the mission church, St. Vincent de Paul in Roby. Later, the Houston parish took St. John the Baptist Mission Church in Licking under its care.

Priests served

Cernauskas, Fr. Daniel, Jun 12, 1965 – Summer, 1965
Landewe, Fr. Robert A., Aug 17, 1966 – Aug 13, 1970
Rehagen, Fr. Harlod W., Aug 14, 1970 – Jun 30, 1974
Clavin, Fr. M. Oliver, Aug 15, 1974 – Jul 14, 1979
McLoughlin, Fr. Paul J., Sep 1, 1975 – Jul 14, 1979
Nichols, Fr. Edward P., Jr., Jul 15, 1979 – Jul 20, 1980
Davidson, Fr. M. Paul (Administrator then pastor), Aug 1, 1980 – Sep 1, 1982; *Pastor with Mission of St. John the Baptist, Licking, Sep 1, 1982 – Feb 26, 1984
Glaub, Fr. Eugene C., OMI, D, 1984 – 1990
Brekel, Fr. Bernard, OMI, D, 1990 – 1991
Brennan, Fr. Francis C., SJ, D, 1991 – 1996
Carr, Fr. Gary M., Aug 17, 1996 – Aug 12, 1997
Teter, Fr. Patrick A. (Temp. Administrator), Aug 5, 1997 – Dec 1997
Binder, Fr. Mark J., Aug 13, 1997 – Aug 16, 2001
Tochtrop, Fr. Randolph G., Aug 17, 2001 – Aug 12, 2003
Orthel, Fr. Joseph A. (Parochial Administrator then Pastor), Aug 13, 2003 – Aug 16, 2005, Pastor Aug 17, 2005 – Aug 9, 2006
Rehrauer, Fr. Matthew J., Aug 10, 2006 –

Above is compiled from diocesan archives.
“D” designates information compiled from The Catholic Directory or Year Book.

Parish related

GPS coordinates: N37° 19.198’, W091° 57.401’ (click here for map)

Attends to: St. John the Baptist Mission Church, Licking, MO, and St. Vincent de Paul Mission Church, Roby, MO

Share This: