Vocations

We all have a vocation…

The Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau wants to help you discover how God is calling you! He loves you personally and intimately through Jesus in the Holy Spirit, and at your baptism, He called you to a vocation to build the kingdom and grow in holiness.

Our vocation is who we are; a career  is what we do.

Read on to continue to discern your vocation, whether that is to Diocesan Priesthood, Religious Life, or the Diaconate.

Keep up with Vocations in our diocese on social media!

2023-2024 Diocesan Seminarians

Mr. Daniel Dunn
Theology III
Sacred Heart Seminary – Franklin, WI

Mr. Matthew Byers
Pre-Theology, Propaedeutic Year
Kenrick-Glennon Seminary – St. Louis, MO

Vocation Resources

Serra Club International – Resources for fostering vocations in the parish

Diocesan Priest – What is a Diocesan Priest? Are you called to serve?

NCDVD – Resources from the National Conference of Diocesan Vocation Directors

Office of Vocations Staff 

Fr. Scott M. Sunnenberg

Fr. Scott M. Sunnenberg

Director of Vocations | frscott@dioscg.org

Kim Kearbey

Kim Kearbey

Administrative Assistant | kkearbey@dioscg.org

VOCATION DIRECTOR

Effective July 2024, The Very Rev. Scott Sunnenberg, will conclude his assignment as diocesan Director of Vocations and Seminarians. Beginning in January 2024, he will mentor the new Vocation Director, while continuing to serve as Pastor of Sacred Heart Parish, Bolivar, and St. Catherine of Siena Mission Church, in Humansville, and as Dean of Deanery 3 of the Diocese.

Beginning in January 2024, Rev. Joseph Stoverink will be mentored by the current Director of Vocations and Seminarians, and will be named as diocesan Director of Vocations and Seminarians in the annual clergy assignments typically announced in July. Reverend Stoverink will continue to serve as Parochial Administrator of St. John Vianney Parish, Mountain View; Sacred Heart Parish, Willow Springs; and St. Sylvester Mission Church, in Eminence.

 

SEMINARIAN PASTORAL INTERNSHIP
Effective Jan. 12, 2024, diocesan seminarian Daniel Dunn is assigned to St. Vincent de Paul Parish, in Cape Girardeau, for pastoral experience. 

Regional Vocation Promoters

Fr. Allen Kirchner
Springfield Area
frkirchner@scspk12.org

Fr. Joseph Stoverink
Mountain View Area
jstoverink@dioscg.org

Fr. Alex Sutachan
Cape Girardeau Area
asutachan@dioscg.org

Fr. Andrew Williams
Joplin Area
frandrewwilliams@gmail.com

Fr. Charles Peirano
Springfield Area
frpeirano@dioscg.org

Office of the Diaconate

Deacon Dan Vaughn
Director of Permanent Diaconate
dcndanvaughn@gmail.com | (417) 546-5208

Deacon Mike Fritz
Associate Director of Formation (West)
mfritz@geoengineers.com | (573) 690-5684

Deacon Mark Kiblinger
Associate Director of Formation (East)
mkiblinger@svparish.com | (573) 579-3458